2019 Teacher of the Year Finalists

Teacher of the year Celebration

CCSD Teacher of the Year Finalists Becoming a Teacher of the Year (TOY) at a school is a significant honor. So, to be named a Charleston County School District (CCSD) TOY finalist is a huge deal.

The five Charleston County School District Teacher of the Year finalists added another accomplishment to their already impressive resumes on March 21, thanks to business partner Hendrick BMW of Charleston. Erin Bua, James Costner, Melissa Reese, Shantia Wilder, and Jayuntay Williams along with CCSD’s State Teacher of the Year finalist Stephanie Haecherl, completed the BMW Performance Driving School Thursday at the BMW plant near Spartanburg. Hendrick BMW transported the teachers via chartered bus, provided lunch and dinner, topped off by an exhilarating day on the test track with all models of BMW cars and SUVs.

Hendrick has been a sponsor of the CCSD Teacher of the Year Program for many years and gives each year’s winner a new car to drive for a year. The current Teacher of the Year has driven a Hendrick MINI for a year. This year’s winner, announced in May, will get a new BMW to drive for a year, compliments of Hendrick BMW. Additionally, the State Teacher of the Year gets a BMW to drive for a year.

Thanks to Hendrick BMW for making this special day possible for a special group of CCSD teachers!

On Thursday, March 7, 2019 the district’s current TOY, Stephanie Haecherl, (Whitesides Elementary School) and District officials surprised the 2019 Top 5 finalists for CCSD Teacher of the Year.

Live announcements and updates were provided on the District’s social media platforms of Facebook and Twitter(@CCSDConnects).

Photos from the day can also be found there.

Each finalist had the opportunity to check out a BMW from Rick Hendrick BMW of Charleston that the District Teacher of the Year will receive at the TOY Celebration, which is scheduled for May 9, 2019. 

Congratulations to each of our finalists!

Erin Bua – Guidance Counselor at James B. Edwards Elementary School

James Costner – Math teacher at Laing Middle School

Melissa Reese – Primary Montessori teacher at Murray-LaSaine Elementary

Shantia Wilder – Child Development teacher at Chicora Elementary School

Jayuntay Williams – Math teacher at West Ashley Middle Advanced Studies Magnet

Special thanks to Rick Hendrick BMW of Charleston and The Charleston RiverDogs for their partnership with CCSD in recognizing and rewarding our teacher leaders through the Teacher of the Year process.